Writing Until My Casket Drops w/ Cash

Author CA$H has been around for a while now. I became familiar with him last December when I read Trust No Man. I was drawn in from beginning to end. I instantly became a fan of his work. When the opportunity came about to interview CA$H I jumped at the chance.wpid-received_m_mid_1397086220081_6b1ff3530fa1e72237_1.jpeg

Cash was born and raised in Cleveland, Ohio but lived most of his life in Atlanta, Georgia. He decided to start writing fiction while incarcerated at a state prison in Georgia. His style is gritty, raw, and real. Even from the depths of confinement he has an imagination that’s in overdrive. His debut novel Trust No Man was released under the Wahida Clark Presents imprint in 2009, and the Trust No Man trilogy went on to reach hood classic status. It remains one of the most respected street novels in the industry. Trust No Man 1, 2&3 and Bonded by Blood were all highly acclaimed releases by Cash under Wahida Clark Publishing.
Since breaking on the scene with WCP, Cash has since formed his own publishing company Lock Down Publications. Under LDP the author’s star has shined brighter than ever with critically acclaimed novels such as A Dirty South Love, Shorty Got a Thug, Trust No Bitch 1&2, and Thugs Cry 1&2.

Cash is presently in his 22nd year of incarceration but he remains strong and he strives to teach through the power of his pen.

“I write what has been termed ‘fictional realism’. I give it to my readers raw and uncut, just like it goes down in everyday life. I feel a responsibly to keep it one hundred. I don’t write fairy-tales, and it’s never my mission to simply entertain the readers, I write with a message. “Therefore, sometimes you’ll need a box of tissue when you read my novels,” he says without apology.

“Other times I’ll make you rejoice over the way certain characters persevere. But you’ll never be left feeling indifferent about my books,” he promises.

From within his cell he writes to change his legacy to one that his loved ones can be proud of. “I want them to know that my desire to rise above the circumstances cannot be suffocated.”

I present to some and introduce to others, Author CA$h.

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself? I was born and raised in Cleveland, Ohio but moved to Atlanta as a teenager.

I answered the call of the streets which led to a long imprisonment that is ongoing.

I write from the perspective of having lived the life that I write about and from having paid the severe cost.

 

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?

I guess I’ve always been a writer because going back to my early years in school I used to win writing contests. Once I took to the streets I didn’t pursue that passion because I was too caught up in the game.

Once I was incarcerated in 1991 I picked my pen back up and began writing about the streets that had spelled my doom.

My first book Trust No Man was published in 2007, and then later republished under Wahida Clark publishing in 2009.

 

How did you choose the genre you write in?

That was predestined because it’s my belief that you write best about whatever it is you know and love.

So I chose to write streetlit because the way I lived epitomized the genre.

 

Do you ever experience writer’s block? How do you deal with it?. Yeah all writers do at some point.

I write my books from cover to cover, meaning I write the chapters in sequence.

If I get stuck on a certain chapter and can’t move on for a while.

I’ll just write a scene that I already know I’ll need later in the book. That usually unclogs the block for me.

 

Can you tell us about your challenges (if any) in getting your first book published?

Man, back in the day I used to send manuscripts to major publishing houses and never get a response.

But I wasn’t tripping because at the time, although I was locked up. I was still dedicated to pushing that work so the book thing was secondary. Once I decided to leave the illegal money alone and dedicated myself to becoming a published author doors opened for me.

 

Is there any aspect of your novel or getting it published that you would change?

Nah, because my first novel Trust No Man, when it was selfpublished was raw and gritty, straight from the block.

It caught the attention of Wahida Clark and as they say, the rest would make a great movie.

 

Can you tell us about your upcoming projects?

My upcoming projects are this friendly challenge I’m engaged in with author Aaron Bebo.

On April 18th we both will release separate books titled Til My Casket Drops.

And the fans will decide who is the hottest. It’s a friendly battle that will make literary history.

Then, in late June I will release the highly anticipated Thugs Cry 3 (Only One Can Wear The Crown

 wpid-received_m_mid_1397086220081_6b1ff3530fa1e72237_0.jpeg

Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?My advice is that they study the craft and use unbiased test readers and a helluva developmentaleditor before self-publishing. Because readers remember you most from how you step into the ring.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sheri Henry-Harrigan started writing at the age of twelve as an outlet for depression. In March 2012 her first project Tales of the Broken Hearted was published. Since then she has penned several titles. She started writing strictly urban fiction. Her most recent work, The Imperfect Love Series is more geared toward the romance genre. As she continues on with her writing career, she plans to move into the crime fiction and thriller genres. Besides writing she is pursuing her other passion of becoming a lawyer. Sheri lives in New York City with her husband and two sons.

Facebook.com/mzsheribabytheauthor
Twitter.com/mzsheribaby

Leave a Reply

