Incarcerated Scarface

Wriiten By: Mike O

“You can’t lead from inside the crowd,”~From 1000 Grams by Mike O 

GodfatherwesI may not be the best author to tell you about prison, but I can definitely relate. As a black man in America, our skin has been a gift and a curse since the Lord covered our bones with it.  A gift to bear the color of our race, but a curse being that our own ancestors sold each other out, causing us to be drug to this country where we’ve endured nothing short of Hell on Earth. From slavery to enslaving our minds, we have been pitted against one another, then, offered a piece of the “American Dream” in powder form, which we then turned to crack and further ruin.

To add fuel to the fire, they glorified the life in movies and music which had the 80’s and beyond booming. Even young black men with no education or respect for authority were becoming successful, owning material things like cars, homes, jewelry, exotic women, expensive threads, you name it. Forget working hard, the addiction to the fast life and money from drugs is the number one destroyer of boys in the hood. I too made the mistake of thinking it was cool, ending up fighting for my life in and out of the courtrooms of North Carolina as captured in my debut novel 1000 Grams.

I luckily escaped death and prison time in my escapades, yet, not all my brothers were so lucky. Some made their way to the grave while others are locked away behind tall fences with rows and rows of thick barbed wire guarded by sharp shooters behind firearms in places we call prisons. My label mate Wesley “Godfather” Hunter is one of those brothers not lucky enough to have escaped the harsh realities of the “Dope Game” which has left plenty of fallen hustlers with stories to tell. One thing about all of us who made these real life hood mistakes, we don’t mind giving our stories back to help you help your kids maybe make better decisions. If not that, maybe you can recognize destructive behavior patterns and figure the best way to intervene.

Our stories are gritty, grimy, true to life tales that provide entertainment as well as learning something you didn’t know about the streets in the process. It’s a life that only those who walked the walk can tell you the truth about. So I would like to introduce you to my label mate Wes, and give you a chance to get to know him a little better.

Mike O: WHAT INSPIRED YOU TO WRITE?

Wesley “Godfather” Hunter:  Quite simply: I love to learn and I love to teach. I first caught the writing bug, while sitting in Federal detention in 1989; I’d been caught with 15.78 grams of rock cocaine and could not believe they were talking about giving me 25 years and offering me a DEAL for 17yrs, with the Public Defender suggesting that I should take it! I subsequently wrote my first piece which was an article called THE WAR: FROM A CONVICTED CRACK COCAINE DEALER’S PERSPECTIVE and, I haven’t stopped writing since.

Mike O:WHY ARE YOU CURRENTLY IN PRISON, WAS IT THE DRUG CASE?

Wesley “Godfather” Hunter:  No. I got the drug case in Aug. 1989 went to the fed’s until May 22, 1996. I, then, went to the half-way house, a bank was robbed by my girl, with me as the driver, they came for me, and so I escaped from the half-way house. Then, on July 3, my 27th birthday, my cousin, my girl and I robbed a Denny’s, had a high speed chase and 2 shoot outs with the cops. I ran into a house, had a hostage, police stand-off.  I’m blessed to be alive. I’m finally about to go home, after completing a 20 year deal.

Mike O: WITHOUT GIVING UP TOO MUCH, WHAT DO YOU HOPE READERS WILL TAKE FROM YOUR BOOK?

Wesley “Godfather” Hunter:  The book I am pushing now is a self-help/advisory/women’s empowerment guide, which has been called THE 48 LAWS OF POWER for the modern woman. It’s called EVERYTHING SHE SHOULD KNOW: What Daddy never told you and Mama never knew. It covers everything from relationship advice, self-love, sexual tricks/games, goal setting, child rearing, men’s games, and even how to establish triple-A credit almost instantly. It’s a keeper and a hand me down for all ages. All of my books are laced with black history, social politics, worldly advice and other such fruits to be embraced.

Mike O:  ARE YOU SELF-PUBLISHED OR WITH A PUBLISHING HOUSE?

Wesley “Godfather” Hunter: EVERYTHING SHE SHOULD KNOW is published thru my brand URBAN DIAMONDS PUBLISHING. However, I just signed with DC Bookdiva Publications and Ben Official Books for an upcoming series of titles.

Mike O: WHAT PIECE OF ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE NEW AUTHORS?

Wesley “Godfather” Hunter: READ! Don’t just read one or two sub-par urban books, then, jump right out there like ‘I CAN DO BETTER THAN THAT’. There’s a lot of garbage in the game. If you truly want to bring the heat then READ! Read top notch authors such as James Patterson, and study their craft: the timing/pace, the use of dialogue, etc. Finally, please, read at least one book on self-editing. Don’t just jump out there on some ‘I’m going to change the game’ nonsense. Learn the rules before you try to bend or break the rules. This is a job and a business, not just a hustle.

Mike O: WHERE CAN READERS PURCHASE YOUR BOOK?

Wesley “Godfather” Hunter: EVERYTHING SHE SHOULD KNOW is available as an eBook on Amazon. The paperback is available at zaharasbooksandthings.com which is a store based in Inglewood, Ca, BEAUTY BAR AND BOOKS at the Slauson Swapmeet, in Los Angeles and also by mail order direct from me at URBAN DIAMONDS PUBLISHING, LLC, 26895 Aliso Creek Rd., ste. B-127, Aliso Viejo, Ca 92656 other locations are being developed and my coming titles will have broader distribution, which is why I signed with Dc Bookdiva Publications. Check DcBookdiva.com for the latest.

Mike O: WHAT CAN WE EXPECT NEXT FROM YOU?

Wesley “Godfather” Hunter: I’ve got a ton of stuff coming this year. I’m looking at four to five new releases. Plus, I’m doing some collaboration work behind the scenes which I’m pretty excited about. I’ve got over 20 completed full-length titles in the clip and I’m just now getting my chance to shine, so, I’m here. And I plan to be around for a while. With the readers’ approval, of course

 

 

Mike O was born and raised on the streets of Winston-Salem, NC. His whole young life was spent making the wrong choices and following a path that is all too familiar that he resurrects in his debut novel “1000 Grams” in hopes of his testimony reaching a young soul lost, helping them to find their way back. This gritty street tale will take you through the good, the bad, and the ugly of Mike O’s past. Since his first release, he has penned a short story trilogy -Fakebook Chronicles, the short story The Tweet Files and the full novel Smokin Mirrors.

 

Leave a Reply

