The Gift of Writing

Written by Sheri Harrigan

Aaron Bebo is the of the critically acclaimed title Change For A Dollar.

His debut. Aaron is a look into the urban terrain in a profound presentation of words. He spins tales so vividly that the reader is almost compelled to believe they are actually participating in every dialogue and location. His debut novel highlights the theme of transition. Bebo delivers the story in fine fashion with his detailed wit, and slick character dialogue. He uses his uncanny view of the urban structure, and the conditions of the people that live there, to draw out a vivid tale. He is able to translate into words a broader spectrum of the ominous shadows that seemed to be an ever present force in the urban structure where he grew up.

Aaron has also ghostwritten two novels outside the street fiction genre that have been published. One being a Non-fiction title on Cancer. He has also lent his time speaking to youths in the South Florida school system as well as juvenile detention centers.

Aaron is also the author of Rat Hunters, Cupids Assassin, Bunches of Love, and Author Wives. The Long Story Short Series a collective of short stories which includes the titles; Accidental Nut, Area’s Grey, On The Green, Mischievous. Bebo has also published works under the name Sadie Morris and Unique Styles. Aaron most recently signed with the publishing house G Street Chronicles. Bebo’s G Street Chronicles debut I Used To Love Her is available now.

Aaron Bebo currently resides in South Florida where he continues to write and connect with the people as a means of promoting literacy. You can connect with this author @ https://www.facebook.com/AaronVERBALKENTBebo , https://twitter.com/AaronBebo Read More Into Urban Culture….

And now I will get up close and personal with Mr. Bebo in the exclusive interview

408596_537732972919750_508388992_n

Sheri: Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Aaron: I am Aaron Bebo. I am a writer, a radio show host, and a partner in a publishing company. I am also a ghostwriter as well.

Sheri: When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?

Aaron: I’ve been writing since I could. I was one of those kids who needed to express themselves, but are guarded. I mostly wrote my thoughts and feelings and through that I discovered the gift of writing. I continue to grow as a writer daily, mostly through my love of reading.

Sheri: How did you choose the genre you write in?

Aaron: I really have no specific genre I write in. I am well rounded as a writer. I wrote my first book in the street fiction genre because it was something I was familiar with (the streets).

Sheri: Do you ever experience writer’s block? How do you deal with it?

Aaron: No I don’t. I believe writers block is a myth. I believe a true writer always has something to express. It may not be what they desire. But a writer should never be at a loss for words.

Sheri: Can you tell us about your challenges (if any) in getting your first book published?

Aaron: I really had no troubles. I knew all the steps to publishing the book. It was after the book was published that I started experiencing challenges. Like getting books into book stores, and on vendor tables. I also learned about the unseen hands that move to try to stop progress for others through connections they may have established before hand. My biggest challenge has been separating my passion from the business.

Sheri: If you had to go back and do it all over, is there any aspect of your novel or getting it published that you would change?

Aaron: No because I couldn’t fork over a Harvard tuition and receive the education I got from my experience.

Sheri: Can you tell us about your upcoming projects?

Aaron:  My next project set for release is Til My Casket Drops. It is a title that will be shared by fellow author Cash Street Lit Author. We are releasing these books as a challenge, not so much between us. But to challenge the authors and readers alike to start focusing back on what’s important and that’s reading and writing. We are hoping to bring our literary affiliates closer and bridge the gap that’s been holding us all back as African American authors. This is a historical event, because nothing like it has been done before; and we encourage people to get behind it or rather beside.

Sheri:Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers.

Aaron: Study the craft and stay off social media until your manuscript is complete. That way when you get on you’ll really have something to talk about. Study the craft; and read books outside the genre you write to keep your language and ideas fresh.

Til My Casket Drops WEB-1

 

Purchase Until My Casket Drops by Aaron Bebo now, http://amzn.to/1rJgxDq

 

Sheri Henry-Harrigan started writing at the age of twelve as an outlet for depression. In March 2012 her first project Tales of the Broken Hearted was published. Since then she has penned several titles. She started writing strictly urban fiction. Her most recent work, The Imperfect Love Series is more geared toward the romance genre. As she continues on with her writing career, she plans to move into the crime fiction and thriller genres. Besides writing she is pursing her other passion of becoming a lawyer. Sheri lives in New York City with her husband and two sons.

Leave a Reply

