THE SEARCH FOR PURPOSE

 

Most people are out to share a vision while making money. What is it that inspires Rich Marcello? I’m mostly interested in truth, and in particular how truth relates to emotional intimacy.

 

Rich: At some level, what we are all after the most is to be truly seen, yet many of us create obstacles that keep us from getting what we want most. All three of my novels are at the core about truly and deeply loving, and the things that get in the way of that happening.

Why just walk away from what others only dream of? Any regrets?

 

Rich: No regrets. I had a great career in high technology and I’m very thankful for my time there.  I just reached a point in my life where I realized I needed to change careers and write for the rest of life.  It was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

Love. It’s been the common theme of your first 3 books. Does it puzzle you? Interest you? Are you on a hunt for it? Why write about it?

Rich:  About four years ago, I go an idea to write three books about different kinds of love.  The first, The Color of Home, was published in 2013 by Langdon Street Press, and is about romantic love.  The second, The Big Wide Calm, was published in July of 2014, and is about platonic love.  The third, The Beauty of the Fall, will be published in 2016, and is about love in the larger community.  I believe truly and deeply loving in any or all of these ways is what we as humans desire the most, so I wanted to take a shot at writing about it.  I’m really happy with my progress so far, though there have many times along the way where I’ve been puzzled in one way or another.  I wouldn’t say I’m on the hunt, but like most, I’m certainly open to more love in my life.

As a fellow poet, I know that poets are a lover of prose. We collect sayings and hear rhythms in just about all that we do. Do you find this to be true for you as well?

 

Rich: Yes. Actually, I’m a poet and songwriter in addition to writing novels, so like you I do collect words and hear rhythms. Sometimes I spend hours working on a sentence or a paragraph just to make sure it works. Sometimes I include lyrics or poems in my novels when they make sense.
How would you describe your works? What sets your writings apart?

Rich: I try to write stories that engage on many levels – emotionally, intellectually, philosophically, with voice, with plot. My hope is that the reader will enter into a relationship with the characters in one way or another. When all those layers are working, I believe it really sets my work apart.
What/who are your greatest inspirations?

Rich: I tend to mostly write from dreams.  I’m a big believer that best writing happens early in the morning when, in a way, I’ve just come from one kind of dream time ( sleep) to another ( writing).  Most of my inspiration comes from that dreamlike place.  In terms of people, I like John Lennon  and Milan Kundera a lot for different reasons. Lennon because he was such an idealist, and Kundera because he was a master at melding storytelling and philosophy together in a way that really worked.

Do you plan to write more books? Will they also address matters of the heart?

 

Rich: I plan to write for the rest of my life.  I probably have a good ten books in me, though all of the topics aren’t clear yet.  After these three books, I’m not sure if I will return to love in the future.

When you write, I’m sure you have a vision in mind, who is your intended audience?

 

Rich: Anyone is deeply interested in truth, in emotional intimacy, in what it means to go deep to the bottom of things.

What do you hope people will take away, after reading a Rich Marcello novel?

 

Rich:  I think if one of my novels invokes an emotional reaction in a reader, any really, then that’s a great take away.  I had author, a Pen Faulkner winner, tell me he loved The Big Wide Calm because Paige Plant, the heroine, was such an emotionally deep character.  I had a blogger tell me she hated the same book because she hated Paige.  I value both pieces of feedback because they invoked emotional reactions, albeit much different ones.
What advice would you give a new/aspiring author?

Rich: Write the first pass of any scene very fast and don’t over think it. Then rewrite the scene over and over until it’s sensual enough to transport the reader into the fictional dream you’re trying to create.

When does book three, ‘The Beauty of The Fall’, come out?

RICH: 2016.
Is there anything else you wish to share?

RICH: That’s for taking the time to speak with me and for asking such great questions.
Where can your books be found?

RICH: They’re available all over the world. Amazon. Barnes and Noble. iTunes.  Probably the best place to start is on my website www.richmarcello.com.  You can also check me out on twitter @marcellor and on Goodreads.
How can you be reached?

RICH: My website is the best way to reach me.  http://www.richmarcello.com

Check out his new book The Big Wide Calm!

thebigwilde

Paige is a rock star. The world just doesn’t know it yet. She’s got the charisma, the drive, and, of course, the mega-musical skills. All she needs is to make her debut album, one that will change the world, inspire revolutions—and make her galactically famous along the way.

When John Bustin, a former semi-famous singer/songwriter offers to record Paige’s album for free, it feels like destiny, like the next step on her way to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Guitar in hand, Paige sets off to John’s recording compound, ready to unfold her future.

But the ever-elusive John, with his mysterious history, and Paige, a big dreamer but naïve about her footing in life, clash as much as they coalesce. Before they can change the world through Paige’s music, the improbable duo must learn to work together.

A coming of age story and retrospective, The Big Wide Calm focuses on human nature and the complexities of love through the eyes of young and old on the journey of creating the perfect album.

Leave a Reply

