A Wiccan Harry Potter?

lmhalls

Available Now on Kindle Unlimited!

Airion is the first book out in the new series Carrie: A Magickal Series by author L.M.Halls. Halls has been a lifelong student of the occult. As a Wiccan priestess she has faced many challenges and journeys much like the main character in her book. She has devoted herself to her craft and forged a fine novel that will leave you speed reading and wanting more. He work takes a close look at the darker side of the human soul but still shows that the light and beauty can be the most positive thing despite the situation one might find themselves in. But don’t take it from me, lets get to the interview and her comments on what the book is about and a multitude of other things.

What is your book about?
The protagonist of Airion is Carrie, a Wiccan psychic and spiritual counselor working in an occult shop. Things start to get messy for Carrie when she crosses paths with a cult that has a very entrepreneurial view of spirituality and their practices drain followers financially and energetically. New members are not the cult’s goal in entering her space; their primary interest is the ley line that runs under the store and extends along the eastern seaboard. A ley line is an energetic current that flows through the Earth similar to chi through the body’s meridians in Traditional Chinese medicine or prana in a yoga practice. Carrie learns that she is meant to battle for the line and maintain the balance in the magickal currents across the country. The concept of ley lines was important to me because we are inextricably connected to nature and I wanted to look at how our actions impact the earth in a variety of ways.

Airion literally translates to iron and ultimately when our protagonist, Carrie, has to tackle her mission she finds the iron within her to withstand and overcome the obstacles that are ahead for her.

On a larger level, Airion is about the importance of the choices we make every day and how we create who we become through the combination of events beyond our control and very personal decisions that determine our openness to accepting a purpose in our life.

How do you incorporate the Wiccan religion into it?
Carrie is a Wiccan – living with the creed of harm ye none – and the practice of the Craft is what inspires her to embrace her gifts and work as a psychic and Wiccan teacher. In the book you do see the realities of a modern witch casting spells, working in her apothecary, and communicating with the Divine, through the many faces of the Goddess as well as Archangels, who for me are messengers of the Divine and not the property of any specific religion. Her battles are metaphysical and her ability to astral project forms the landscape for the battles to come.

I hope the message that love is the greatest power of all shines through. Let’s face it, we all want telekinesis, but the most powerful gift we all have is love. It heals us and allows us to heal others. I share some of the same tools I use with my clients in the book and I hope that they help people to look at their own fears and the false messages through which they look at their lives.

I think my anger at the exploitation of what should be a path for love and beauty played a role in writing this book as well. I love Wicca because you only explore it if it feels right for you and it provides so many avenues to peace. I am disturbed by many of the New Age gurus who have emerged selling ridiculous promises to desperate people. It would be naïve to think that the metaphysical world would not be plagued by as many con artists as any other religious space. For me this work is a calling and every person who is selling pipe dreams instead of real tools and help is undermining the healing our clients need.

Is it a fantasy novel? Why or why not?
Personally, I prefer to call it magical realism. Yes, for the larger public, Airion is fantasy. Astral projection, ley lines, psychic gifts and demons – these are generally the property of the fantasy genre. For me, writing the book was very personal and as a Wiccan these are all elements that I am familiar with and have experienced. The witches I have talked to about the book were struck by the accuracy of the representation so I think it all comes down to your point of view. I do want to make clear, however, that this is a work of fiction. I found the roots in stories that were shared with me from Wiccans across the country about dark practitioners not understanding the dangers in casting spells on major portals for their own use and catapulted from there.

Who is your target reader? What books are they reading?
I find that many of us are looking for a bigger purpose or meaning to life and though I had White witches as my target reader, the book is written in a fast paced, easy to read style that any casual reader of metaphysical thrillers would enjoy. I am very disturbed by so many of the mass media images of witches and I wanted to create something that real witches could read and say, “Finally, that’s me.” I also want to reach Indigos and this new generation that feels drawn to have an impact on the world.

So many of the books written for Wiccans are non-fiction and I know that various grimoires are a big piece of what they are reading, as well as fantasy thrillers and supernatural romance and I think that my book has those elements. For me, if you enjoyed the Caster Chronicles, which became the movie Beautiful Creatures, I think you would really enjoy Airion.

What made you decide to write this book?
Books have always been a crucial part of my life and my road to understanding so writing was the natural tool for exploring these ideas that were tumbling in my head. Growing up we moved every year and my grandmother sent me care packages of books that became my most treasured items. In graduate school I fell in love with Post-Modernism and Magical Realism and I am a rabid fan of Toni Morrison.

Storytelling is the way a culture shares their values, explores their fears, and creates their heroes. Working with individuals every day who are struggling to find happiness really made me want to examine these feelings of alienation and the search for personal meaning.

It’s interesting, I was talking to a Master Astrologer the other day and apparently when I decided to start writing I had some transits occurring in my chart that only happen once every 140 years. So in a way, I was answering the call of the universe to let loose the reins on my subconscious.

Who is Carrie based off of?
Carrie is based on all of us – we all want to stand against the exploitation in the world, and provide love and guidance to help others find happiness. We all have struggled with societal expectations that do not honor who we really are. I really hope that all readers find a piece of themselves in her – in her struggles and her success.

What would you say to someone to get them to read your work for the first time?
I have tried to give voice to the common aspirations we all have – finding peace, love, and a little Magick in our lives. I also hope that if you have any curiosity to see how a psychic and a white witch lives then this book is a great choice. Obviously as a work of fiction, it is also written to be a page turner and something that you can easily transport you – it’s a fun read, which will leave you inspired and viewing the world with a different perspective.

What is next in the series?
Pushing Lines is scheduled to be released July 31st. I don’t want to give any spoilers so I will just say that the first book focused on Carrie’s local vicinity. The next battle for the ley lines will take her on a national level. Carrie is mad as hell and struggling to keep a grasp on right and wrong and I will confess, so far it has been a lot of fun. I am looking forward to seeing how people respond to it.

About the Author

lmhallsphoto

L. M. Halls has been a lifelong student of both the occult and literature. As a Wiccan priestess and spiritual counselor she works with individuals to develop the tools to build a strong sense of self, even when life has presented extraordinary challenges. As an author she enjoys strong protagonists confronting the big life questions in landscapes that allow for some fun. By necessity her work addresses the darker side of the human soul but there is always enough beauty to balance what might otherwise seem a dire human condition.

Available Now on Kindle Unlimited!

Website: http://www.lmhalls.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/lmhallsauthor
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/L-M-Halls/1617064685171723?ref=hl

Leave a Reply

